Regardless of where you go to school, it is a known fact that college students are notorious for getting their hands on alcohol. I am, first, going to start off with the following statement:
I DO NOT IN ANY WAY ENCOURAGE UNDERAGE DRINKING. IF YOU ARE UNDER 21, YOU ARE UNDERAGE.
On that note, even if you are under 21, you will probably be offered a drink while you are at school. Since you are no longer living at home, your parents will not be there to tell you "Drinking is bad! Don't do it!" and the decision is 100% your responsibility. Some students will be responsible and wait until they are 21, but many others will not. If you are a person who is living a gluten free life and you drink alcohol that is not gluten free, then you can get EXTREMELY sick. I am speaking from experience here. You think a hangover is bad? Try having a hangover where your small intestine feels like it's getting stabbed by 50 knives. It makes things a lot worse. Not to mention that alcohol gets absorbed into your body a lot quicker and a lot deeper than most things you ingest, so it will take a lot longer to get out of your system.
beverages that are ok to drink:
Armagnac (it's made from grapes!)
Beer: Before I list gluten free beers I would like to point out that although a beer may say it's gluten free, it may not be 100% gluten free. It is your responsibility to check the label to see what is says. Some beers are brewed without gluten, and some are passed though a filter that tries to extract the gluten.
Bards Tale Dragons Gold, Bard's Tale Beer Company
New Grist, Lakefront Brewery
Passover Honey Beer, Ramapo Valley
Sorghum Molasses Brown, Outer Banks
Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale, New Planet
Cider: Like beer, is not always safe. Read labels!
Woodchuck Brand Cider
Old Deadly Cider
Cognac (again, made with grapes!)
Kirschwasser (cherry liquor! yum!)
Mr & Mrs T
Club Extra Dry Martini (made from corn and grapes!)
Club Vodka Martini (again, corn and grapes!)
Mead (distilled from honey for all you renaissance fair people out there!)
Jose Cuervo Mistico
Mixes & Cooking Alcohols:
Club Tom Collins
Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
Ouzo (made from corn and anise)
Ok, so after reviewing the list I would just like to emphasize that YOU MUST READ LABELS. Special brews of alcohol and different brands that come out may use gluten in their drink so PLEASE do your research before you drink. I have yet to meet a wine in my life that has ever contained gluten, so my key is: When in doubt, buy Miscatto!
PLEASE DRINK RESPONSIBLY!!!!
DON'T BUY ALCOHOL FOR MINORS!!!!
DON'T DRINK AND DRIVE!!!!!
DESIGNATED DRIVERS ARE ANGELS!!!!!