As you may have guessed from the symbol, this means that the product is wheat free. But do not be fooled by this symbol people! If you are on a gluten free diet, these foods might still be harmful to you. I picked up a loaf of bead that was labeled with this symbol, and realized the first ingredient was Spelt. For those of you who don't know, spelt comes from a wheat like plant, and although most people with wheat allergies can tolerate spelt, if you are on a gluten free diet, it will make you quite sick!
If you want to make sure that your food is 100% gluten free, this is the symbol you want to look for:
This symbol is the trademark of the GFCO (Gluten Free Certification Organization) and it's your key to finding truly gluten free food. The GFCO has set a specific set of standards for a company to meet in order to carry their seal. It is very strict, but that guarantees that you, the customer, will be safe from any gluten contaminates. The GFCO is a program of the GIG (Gluten Intolerance Group) and if you are gluten free and have not visited their site before, I highly recommend you do. They can provide you with a lot of information about what to look for when purchasing gluten free food, and can supply you with databases of recipes and restaurants that are certified gluten free.